Fan Tracks






DC App

Guest of Honor Awards Banquet

Hyatt Regency VI-VII

The Dragon Con Awards Banquet will be held on Saturday, September 1st, in the Hyatt International Ballroom. The Award Banquet is a premiere event honoring those guests and volunteers who have made outstanding contributions to their profession and the community.  Tickets are $65.00 and may be purchased by calling the Dragon Con office, mailing in the registration form, or ordering online through our store. Seating is limited, so please visit our store to order yours!

Several awards will be presented during the Awards Banquet, including our Guest of Honor Awards, The Julie Award, The Hank Reinhardt Fandom Award, and new this year, the Eugie Foster Memorial Award for Short Fiction.

The Julie Award

In 1998, Dragon Con established the Julie Award presented annually in tribute to the legendary Julie Schwartz. The Julie Award is bestowed for universal achievement spanning multiple genres, selected each year by our esteemed panel of industry professionals. Our inaugural recipient in 1998 was science fiction and fantasy Grandmaster Ray Bradbury.

“Julie” co-founded the first SF fan magazine, the first World Science Fiction Convention, and the world’s first science fiction literary agency, representing the works of Ray Bradbury, Robert Bloch, Alfred Bester, and H.P. Lovecraft. In 1944, Julie began his 45-year editorial role at DC Comics, rescuing the super-hero genre from near-extinction, and revived and modernized Batman, The Flash, Green Lantern, The Justice League of America, and Superman.

Past winners include:

  • Julius Schwartz (1998)
  • Ray Bradbury (1998)
  • Will Eisner (1999)
  • Anne McCaffrey (1999)
  • Yoshitako Amano (2000)
  • Neil Gaiman (2000)
  • Harlan Ellison (2001)
  • Alice Cooper (2001)
  • Carmine Infantino (2002)
  • Paul Kantner (2002)
  • Marty Balin (2002)
  • Jim Steranko (2003)
  • Forrest J. Ackerman (2003)
  • Denny O’Neil (2004)
  • Chick Corea (2004)
  • Joss Whedon (2005)
  • Paul Dini (2006)
  • Peter David (2007)
  • Micky Dolenz (2008)
  • Leonard Nimoy (2009)
  • Stan Lee (2010)
  • William Shatner (2011)
  • Neal Adams (2012)
  • George Takei (2013)
  • Terry Gilliam (2014)
  • Caroll Spinney (2015)
  • Brian Henson (2016)
  • Jonathan Frakes (2017)

The Hank Reinhardt Fandom Award

The Hank Reinhardt Georgia Fandom Award is presented for outstanding contributions to the genre by a Georgia writer, artist, or fan. In 2009, the name of this award was changed to the Hank Reinhardt Fandom Award to honor the memory of the first recipient of the award.

Past winners include:

  • Hank Reinhardt (1990)
  • Marilyn Teague (1991)
  • Lamar Waldron (1992)
  • Gerald Page (1993)
  • Samanda Jeude (1994)
  • Stan Bruns (1995)
  • Thomas E. Fuller (1996)
  • Avery Davis (1997)
  • Irv Koch (1998)
  • Brad Strickland (1999)
  • Sue Phillips (2000)
  • Bill Ritch (2001)
  • Floyd Chappell (2002)
  • Wendy Webb (2003)
  • Nancy Knight (2004)
  • Regina Kirby (2005)
  • John Ringo (2006)
  • Bill Harrison (2007)
  • Patrick Roberts (2008)
  • Toni Weisskopf (2009)
  • Mark Fingerman (2010)
  • Mike Dillson (2011)
  • Joe Campbell (2012)
  • Ron Zukowski (2013)
  • Dan Cook (2014)
  • Eugie Foster (2015)
  • Susan Barrows (2016)
  • Jennifer Liang (2017)

The Eugie Foster Memorial Award for Short Fiction (or Eugie Award). Celebrating the best in innovative fiction, this annual award will be presented for the third time in 2018—for works published in 2017—at Dragon Con, the nation’s largest fan-run convention.

The Eugie Award honors stories that are irreplaceable, that inspire, enlighten, and entertain. We will be looking for stories that are beautiful, thoughtful, and passionate, and change us and the field. The recipient is a story that is unique and will become essential to speculative fiction readers.

Eligibility: Original speculative short fiction of 20,000 words or fewer, published—including in print, ebook, or online, individually, or in a magazine, collection, or anthology—for the first time in the English language in the previous year (2016).

This is a juried award, with the long list nominations coming from editors, reviewers, and select readers. In the future, the nominations will be gathered in the first three months of the year, but for our first year, we will be running a bit late. The names of the five finalists will be released before the award recipient is selected.

To contact us about the awards use

Past winners include:

Catherynne M. Valente (2016)